“The second Sunday of the month of May is celebrated as Mother’s Day all over the world”- claims the Wikipedia definition when I google the term Mother’s Day. The entire concept of Mother’s Day was probably rooted in the West- when kids, who stayed away from their moms would use this day to greet them and meet them. And they said, we don’t need a Mother’s Day in the East, we meet our Moms daily. We live with them. Be that as may be/East or West- Mumma’s  the Best 🙂 And we don’t need a separate day to glorify the divine incarnation that she is-coz- #EveryDayIsMothersDay!
  • I know am a Mom – when I realize planning the menu for dinner means- “Preparing ONLY what my daughter Likes“! Then follows the hubby- and probably then will be my choice. Cut to the past- that has what my MOM has been and will be doing whenever I am Home. I rush to her to find out the Menu- listing out my favourites, but I hardly know what makes to her list.
  • I know am a MOM– when I am strict with my kid and try to discipline her- even if it means few glares and stern warnings. but the next minute, her cute little face that comes and says “Sorry”  melts me.
  • I know am a MOM when I start arguing with my husband for the flimsiest reasons. “Long Drive after Lunch? “Noo.. she needs to sleep, plan it later”. “We are done with the dinner. Lets order some Ice Creams”. “Whaaat..nooo.. she s having a bad tooth- lets not eat Ice Creams in front of her”! When these small “giving-ups” are termed as sacrifices it seems odd and embarrassing! We even laugh over it later saying how we agree to disagree. But then I realize these are such inconsequential pebbles on the long way to Huge Mountain called My Momma’s love. Our Exams- she wouldn’t venture out. If we fell ill, she would eat much lesser as her mind would be preoccupied. And if its study time, everyone at home wouldn’t watch TV- lest we get distracted.
  • I know am a MOM when I realize how happy my heart jumps when someone says nice things about my daughter. “Ohh she sings the rhymes so well” “Ohh she holds the badminton racket like a pro” and so on. Just like how my MOM would feel when me and my bro did something Good and Big. We used to tease her saying that she is soo hung up on her kids and their achievements- and she would say with a soft smile- “Wait, till you have a Kid. You will know!” I Know Today Mom!
  • I know am a MOM– when I realize after hours of enduring a painful labour- I gave a bright smile and asked the doc if I could see my child. The minute I saw her first- there was no pain, no suffering. And only the angel and me in that Magical Minute!
  • I know am a MOM when I would trade anything in the World in exchange to see my new-born daughter fast asleep. But the minute she is in deep sleep- I would slowly start playing with her tiny feet and cute little fingers and talk to her in a language that only the two of us would understand. And all those troubles I endured to put her to sleep would vanish in no time. Now, I understand Ma, why even when all would say how I was a troublesome nocturnal bird, not giving you any sleep as a baby- you would brush it aside with a smile. Not one word from you, till date 🙂
  • I know am a MOM– when nothing gives me more happiness (not even the best of handbags and designer dresses and latest gadgets) than seeing an empty plate and a tiny smile on my kid’s face- after meal time. That ‘s just the ultimate pleasure– and trust me, as Moms we battle for it each and every day!
  • I know am a MOM– when I would discard unwanted books, old torn clothes and even some staggering pieces of furniture, but those tiny mittens and booties that you wore first or the lovely green wrap that I used to swaddle you are all tucked in deep inside my shelf!
  • I know am a MOM– when shopping for ME/US soon changes to Shopping for the KID. Movie choices from Action/Rom-Com soon give way to Disney classics. Star Sports/ Sun Music/ HBO are fast replaced by Pogo, Nick Junior and Chutti TV.
  • I know am a MOM– when I see my kid playing with my MOM- there is hardly a difference of who is who. It is a clear picture of two kids playing happily in the world- with me watching it from somewhere in the corner and tears swelling up in the eye.

To, all the lovely MOM’s in the world- Hats Off. Being a Mother, is no small thing. The innumerable pain that you have undergone and the sacrifices that you do for your child- day in and day out- is unparalleled. You are the walking encyclopedia and there is nothing in the World that a mother can’t teach the Kid.Every role in the world is replaceable. Even the top boss in the best MNC can be replaced- but there is no replacement for a MOM. She was-is-and will always be the Best.

Happy Mother’s Day- dear beloved ladies 🙂
Leave a Reply

